Come along on an enchanted adventure around the world with a young girl and her faithful companion, the moon!

 

Get a great book and support an independent publication by purchasing directly from the author and illustrator--visit amoonofmyown.com to preview the entire book and to purchase YOUR copy! 

About the Author and Illustrator:

Jennifer Rustgi developed a love of children’s literature during her years teaching reading as an elementary school teacher and became inspired to write her own stories through her experiences with her young daughter. She lives in Austin, Tx. with her family. A Moon of My Own is her second children’s book.

Ashley White is a graphic artist with an eye for all things fabulous + creative. She lives just outside of Austin with her husband, daughter, + handsome dog, Tsavo.

My Reviews & Testimonials (12 Reviews)

The students were in awe of her photographs and the book.

My students loved the adventure.  A Moon of My Own is a great book to introduce or supplement lessons about the moon or geography.  Ms. Rustgi's presentation was interesting and educational.  The students were in awe of her photographs and the book.  

By Hollie J. on Feb. 9, 2015 189 People found this useful
Share this review on

Loved it!.

Loved it!

By Jennifer Rustgi on June 15, 2016 120 People found this useful
Share this review on

Great to share one on one or in the classroom as a research starter for the moon or landmarks!

A Moon of My Own is beautifully written and illustrated.  The girl in the story is never lonely because the moon is her constant companion.  Her imagination takes them to the Eiffel Tower in Paris, to the Great Sphinx in Egypt, and to many beautiful landmarks around the world.  Great to share one on one or in the classroom as a research starter for the moon or landmarks!

By Krish Stella on Feb. 5, 2015 179 People found this useful
Share this review on

"The students were enchanted..."

We were lucky enough to host author Jennifer Rustgi recently. She came by for a visit with our kinder students and they were delighted by her presentation, as were the teachers. The presentation was a perfect length for kinder-2nd grade and the content was very age appropriate. The students were enchanted with the book and especially enjoyed the pictures of the galaxy and world attractions in the supporting power point. I look forward to being able to host her again for my other grade levels.

By Steffanie Audel on Jan. 27, 2015 184 People found this useful
Share this review on

What a wonderful book.

What a wonderful book. The story is sweet and the images are perfect to spark a child's imagination - though they're real. So happy to have this book in our daughter's collection.

By Elizabeth Schul on Jan. 22, 2015 216 People found this useful
Share this review on

A Moon of My Own is a wonderful book about a little girl who travels the world with her friend, the moon.

A Moon of My Own is a wonderful book about a little girl who travels the world with her friend, the moon. The book and the illustrations are enchanting. A definite delight for all!

 

By Katie on Jan. 14, 2015 251 People found this useful
Share this review on

A definite delight for all ☺

A Moon of My Own is a wonderful book about a little girl who travels the world with her friend, the moon. The book and the illustrations are enchanting. A definite delight for all ☺

By Katie on Jan. 14, 2015 239 People found this useful
Share this review on

Our preschoolers loved the vivd images and around-the-world travel depicted in this book.

Our preschoolers loved the vivd images and around-the-world travel depicted in this book.  It is a great book to start discussions about famous destinations and also about the moon and solar system.  Even better, it just makes for a great bedtime story.  Every child will want to have a moon of their own after reading A Moon of My Own.  Gorgeous book!

By Christy on Jan. 14, 2015 214 People found this useful
Share this review on

"...sure to be classic!

This book is a sure to be classic! It is obvious that the author has had much experience working and connecting with children. The illustrations are phenomenal. Caldecott phenomenal! 

By Kate on Jan. 14, 2015 208 People found this useful
Share this review on

The illustrations are gorgeous - the black and blues, the silhouettes, the way the words are written on the pages - it all comes together to make a beautiful adventure.

A beautiful adventure...  A Moon of My Own takes you around the world, but you also feel like you're just taking a walk with a friend.  The story is filled with thoughts we've all had, but never all together in such a sweet way.  The illustrations are gorgeous - the black and blues, the silhouettes, the way the words are written on the pages - it all comes together to make a beautiful adventure.

By Dee on Jan. 6, 2015 190 People found this useful
Share this review on

A Moon of My Own is a great book to take children on an adventure that spurns their creativity and imagination while educating the young audience about actual places they too can visit.

A Moon of My Own is a great book to take children on an adventure that spurns their creativity and imagination while educating the young audience about actual places they too can visit. It's evident that the author and illustrator worked closely to capture the essence of childhood innocence and wonder. Best of luck to them both on their future endeavors! 

By Kristen Carmona on Jan. 6, 2015 191 People found this useful
Share this review on

A Moon of My Own is a beautifully written and illustrated book.

A Moon of My Own is a beautifully written and illustrated book. Ever since I read her  the book, my 2 1/2 year old daughter never misses an opportunity to point out the moon when she sees it! 

By Krista on Jan. 6, 2015 197 People found this useful
Share this review on